Home‎ > ‎

User Permissions / Restrictions

In a Company, all the staffs are not allowed to access all the features of the software.  It will be assigned to the nature of work. AccountingGuru had a very small permission / restriction.  Understanding the use of permissions/restrictions and customers need, AccountingGuru has improved this feature.  Now, it will be very easy to custom permission/ restriction to users.  This page shows how to setup the permission/restriction to users.

To setup permission/restriction go to -> Settings -> Users


In the below Screen, click on "Security Group"


The below screen appears, click on "Add Security Group"


In the below screen, Type the "Name" to whom you want to set permissions/ restrictions.


When you do not want the user to view your "Dashboard", click on the "Drop-down" menu and click "No".  Now the user will not be able to see the dashboard.  In the same way permission / restrictions can be assigned for the following activities. 

  1. Masters
  2. Sales
  3. Purchase
  4. Accounting
  5. Reports
  6. Settings

All the above Menu is displayed one after one in the same page.


1.  Masters:


In the Masters, we have Customers / Suppliers, Product, Tax & Banking.  To permit a user for an activity, click on the "Drop-down" and select "Yes".  To restrict select "No".

1)      When we say "No" to Create/Edit/Delete Customers and Suppliers, the user will not be able to do any of it.

2)      If you do not want the user to view the Customer/Supplier select "No", enable select "Yes"

3)      When we say "Yes" to Create Customers and Suppliers, the user is permitted to Create Customers and Suppliers.

4)      The user will be restricted to create/modify tax categories when "No" is selected, select "Yes" to permit the user

5)      The same way for Products

6)      The user will not be able to set up Bank Accounts when "No" is selected.


2. Sales:

 

In the Sales, when we say "Yes", the user is able to do everything.  When we say "No" to “Able to submit the sales invoice for approval”, the user can only save the invoice as Draft.  When we say "Yes" he will be able to submit for approval.  To permit the user to approve the invoice, select "Yes".  When you do not want the user to do anything and only view the invoice, select "Yes" and others "No".

Select "Yes" or "No" to permit or restrict the user to create Quote.

Normally,  we will not allow the admin or sales people to create credit note.  It will be created by the accounting staff or anybody who is related to accounts.  So, we can restrict the such user by selecting "No" which is under Credit Note.


3.  Purchase:


In the same way we permit/restrict for Sales, we can customize the permissions / restrictions for Purchase also.

Normally, the user who is creating the invoices will not be permitted to "Approve" the "Invoice", he should submit the Invoice for "Approval".   When we say "No" to “Able to approve purchase Invoice”, he wont be able to Approve it.  We can say "Yes" to the higher authority to Approve.  Sometimes, we do not allow some people to do anything other than Viewing the Purchase Invoice.  To restrict the user to only View the Invoice, select "Yes".  When we say "Yes" to “Able to submit the purchase invoice for approval”, the user is allowed to submit for Approval or he will be able to save it as Draft only.  

4.  Accounting:


This permission/restriction is for Accounts Department.  Here, we have permission/restriction for Receipt, Expense, Ledger, TDS Receivable, Payment, Journal, TDS Payable.  We can give the suitable permission/restriction to the Accounting Staff, Account Admin & Accounts Manager.

5.  Reports:

In a company, other than the Accounting Admin, Accounts Manager and the Managerial Persons will be restricted to View the Financial Reports & Banking Reports.  To restrict users on such activity we can say "No".  Whoever is authorized to view the reports, we can say "Yes".


6.  Settings:


Mostly, all the users other than Company Admin and Senior Persons, would not have permissions to do anything in the settings.  These settings are managed by the Master User.  We can restrict or permit the other users using these options.

After selecting the right permission/restriction to the user, Click on "Create" which is at the bottom of the page.

Now, the permission / restriction is done.

Comments